I’m 33, and I love my age

I am 33.  I love it.  I love every second, minute, hour, day…you get the point.

I love being 33.  And all the years that come with it. But the comments, not so much.  “Ohmigod. You’re 33?” “That’s sooooo old!!”  “Oh, so, like, you like, know a lotta history stuff?”

I’m 33, damn it!  Not 133!!!

I was born in 1976.  Yup, ’76.  A BiCentennial Baby, my first knit blankets are red, white and blue.  But that’s not all…it gets better.

This is me, 33 years ago, in my plaid bicentennial edition high chair...

This is me, 33 years ago, in my plaid bicentennial edition high chair...

I have pictures of myself with my mom and dad, and I kid you not, you’d think I was born to Michelle Pfieffer and Al Pacino, straight outta ScarFace.  Looks, clothing, attitude and all.

Some of my first portraits (SEARS) are done with me wearing paisely shirts and stripe overalls. I have on butterfly collars.  I’m wearing kangaroo shoes. From the first time they were sold.

Note the 1970's hue to the color...

Note the 1970's hue to the color...

Why do I love being 33? What is so great?  Especially when I work with a bunch of mere children that barely graduated from high school let alone college and find it exhillerating to finally be moving out of mom and dad’s house into a garden apartment a block from the el and all of the “coolest hangouts?”

Because.  I was there.  I was there the FIRST TIME. When it ACTUALLY HAPPENED.  Such as:

1.  Michael Jackson.  I was there when he was black.  I was there when the only creepy he was, was when he was the zombie outta the Thriller video.  I was a member of his fan club.  I had a button to prove it.  I had a single shiny glove and a funky red jacket and I remember when his head caught on fire on the set of a Pepsi commercial.

2. Rollerskates.  That’s right, bitches!  Before “In-line” and “Blades” there were just plain old SKATES.  Four wheels. Loose laces. Good times in a rink with an girls skate in which all the boys lined up to get their hands slapped.  Maybe they still do that.  I dunno.

3. Saturday Night Live.  It’s worth this mention.  Because, although some people think it’s funny now, it’s not even close to how it used to be.  Dan Akroyd, John Belushi, Gilda Radner, Eddie Murphy, Billy Crystal… Those guys made the most memorable skits, characters and moments on the show.  And, for much of my unguarded and misspent youth, I watched most of it unravel.  I perfected my Fernando, my Buckwheat, Baba Wawa and Judy Miller, “Jane, you ignorant slut,” the fish-o-matic…ahhhhh, those were the days.

4. I didn’t have to watch “Nick at Night” to watch all of the BEST sitcoms on tv.  I adored the typicals: The Electric Company, 3-2-1 Contact (BLOODHOUND GANG!!!!), The Cosby Show, A differnt World, Different Strokes, Mr. Belvidere, Benson, Webster…and some not so typical: Small Wonder, Perfect Strangers, Alf, Out of this World…I’m sure I’m missing some…

5.  My cartoons weren’t overly violent OR overly PC.  For example, I GOT TO WATCH Speedy Gonzalez (a personal fave).  Tom and Jerry didn’t have to have stupid voices AND their Mamie didn’t have to sound so…so…not like a Mamie.  And I’m sorry, but She-Ra, He-Man, and Thundercats (I love you, Schnarf! Schnaaarrrrrrf!) were the BOMB.

6. This clothing and shoe thing…I was prolly there the FIRST time it was hot…for example, YOU DID NOT START A TREND with Dr. Scholl’s, Jelly Shoes, or Roos.  Before skinny jeans, we tightened and rolled (that’s right!), and WE wore leg warmers.  YEARS AGO.  In fact, I might still have my blue leg warmers that I wore to the BOZO show and which are OLDER THAN you somewhere in a box in my basement…

That's my bleach blond mom on the left, poppin' her collar

That's my bleach blond mom on the left, poppin' her collar

7. My mom was a Disco Queen and my dad danced like John Travolta. What can you say? “Oh, dude….my mom was such a member of the X-generation and my dad was totally awesome at keg stands…”

You might be wondering, “Why, MommyTsunami, why are you going through this list?”

Cuz, I can.

Cuz, it should be documented.

Because I am not SOOOOOOOO old like you mentioned so ungracefully at work.  I guess it’s a compliment to say there’s noooooo way that I look 33 or like I have 4 kids.  But, HOW BAD SHOULD I LOOK for being 33?

I mean, seriously…Whatchou talkin’ ’bout, Willis?

No, seriously...WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??? I'm young. Damn it.

No, seriously...WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??? I'm young. Damn it.

~ by The Mommy Tsunami on June 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “I’m 33, and I love my age”

  1. don’t you love working with teens and 20 somethings? Sigh. You’re only a year older than my husband!

  2. First off, lemme smack the bitch who said that. I bet I can guess….but I don’t wanna. Second, LOVE the list. I would add to it that I went to the FIRST Lollapalooza. Back when it didn’t cost a week’s pay.

Leave a Reply

 
