I have a tantrum thrower

I have a tantrum thrower.

Wow, it’s like I asked you on a date and skipped dinner and brought you right to the bedroom, isn’t it?

But, there’s no cute way to enter this post.

I have a tantrum thrower.

I’d show you a movie, but it costs $60 a year to have videopress so that I could post it.  But, I’l try my best to describe it.

Here, he begins by whipping his cup across the room

Here, he begins by whipping his cup across the room

Next, he throws himself towards the ground

Next, he throws himself towards the ground

The tantrum thrower is Chops. Twin A. He begins by screaming, grabbing on to my leg and holding tight so that I can’t walk anywhere without him dragging with me.  When I don’t allow him to hang off my leg, yes…that’s right, I peel him off…he then throws himself to the ground.  Like superman. I mean, this kid needs a full on cape.  He throws himself, by leaps and bounds, and then puts his hand out in front of himself…yup, he’s smart enough to protect his face and head.

And then…he writhes. He squirms. He screams. Blood curddling screams. He twists and arches his back. Throws his head back.  Did I mention the screams.

All the books (read:internet) say to ignore him. To find him a safe place to throw his tantrum and leave him. To not talk to him. To not try

Once on ground, he does not sleep. He SCREAMS.

Once on ground, he does not sleep. He SCREAMS.

to reason with him. To not punish him or become angry with him.

Yeah. Easier said than done. On the safe place: I find my son a safe place to throw a tantrum and then I walk away at which point he gets up, follows me, and then throws himself down in front of me yet again. Yay.

On not talking/reasoning. I cannot open my mouth.

No tantrum is complete without the arching of back...

No tantrum is complete without the arching of back...

I’m going to be honest, I already have a proclivity towards swearing like a sailor. So, in this case, I have to keep my mouth shut.

What a great a mother, right? All is want to do is to tell my kid to shut the %#$& up.

I really wish I could post this video.

He is only 18 months old. Is this the beginning of the terrible twos? Will he throw tantrums until he is three? Will he always be a tantrum thrower?

I have three other children that I have raised myself. None of them has been a tantrum thrower. I don’t know what to do with this.

I want to keep my motherly patience and composure. But the potential of one more year…heck one more month of this?

HELP.

~ by The Mommy Tsunami on August 18, 2009.

6 Responses to “I have a tantrum thrower”

  1. 1. No it won’t last forever.
    2. No it won’t last forever.
    3. iPods with good headphones work nicely.
    4. Baby jail (i.e. playpen) stayed up at my house for 12 years for just this purpose.
    5. Maybe somebody else will have better actual advice, but for me? This stage just had to be sort of endured.
    6. It won’t last forever.

  2. So my daughter went through this phase. and it lasted til she was 4. Good luck.

    Aren’t you glad i was a ray of light in your day? lol

  3. Oh gurrrrrrrrrrrl I am in the SAME boat. Mason has a fit about every 20 minutes right now. It really bad and I totally feel for you. I have to say, now though, I can usually tell what it’s about. For instance, he wants to wear dirty clothes or eat cookies for lunch. Um NO. When he was that age I really had no clue. Honestly I have tried every approach and it truly depends on the situation for him. Some of them I ignore, some I comfort him and he clams down. You really have to feel this one out and find what works for your kid.
    I am sending hugs, patience, and booze. Luv ya.

  4. I am totally in that boat right now. James is throwing fits about EVERYTHING and I’m to the point where I want to be at work. I hate to admit that. And I’m thinking of having another one. Sheesh!

  5. Oh girl, BTDT. Reilly was a tantrummer of epic proportions, I KNOW your pain. He may be your challenge child. Godspeed.

  6. Found myself nodding in agreement with everything you’ve said (right down to the swearing like a sailor).

    You’re NOT alone, no it WON’T last forever (that’s what I keep telling myself) and I hadn’t thought of the iPod and headphones thing. That’s genius.

    My escape clause? Get out the house at every given opportunity. My 19 month rarely throws a fit when we’re out and about. Good luck…

Leave a Reply

 
